About Us

Our Story

In 2003 I retired from Ann Sacks Tile and Stone which I started in my home in 1981.

In 2006 I decided to pursue a new goal, creating a sophisticated but affordable collection of tile, stone, and wood that would enable designers to pursue their creative ends while balancing the timing and budget realities of commercial projects.

In order to accomplish this mission I relied on my thirty years of experience in the industry during which I obtained an in depth understanding about how things are made and what COULD be made with existing resources.

I also relied upon the wonderful relationships I had established by working with manufacturers and quarriers as partners.

Design and Direct Source (DDS) prides itself on providing the best products at the best prices, as well as creative and timely responses to requests. Our valued customers can expect a sample and important product and timing information quickly, often as soon as overnight. 

We hope this new website will be another tool which can help you, the developer or design professional, by showing that exceptional products can be had at exceptional prices!

Thanks to all of you for supporting DDS and to learn more about how your valued support is helping animals please take a moment to visit our story on philanthropy.

Warm regards,

Ann Sacks
President, Design and Direct Source

Sustainability

In every relationship with our valued vendors the issue of sustainable practices is paramount. The ability to reach certain goals varies a great deal based upon the specific product, but we are proud to work with world class manufacturers and quarries that are committed to knowledge, incremental improvements, and transparent practices. We rate sustainability based on the following practices:

Recycled Content:
Tile with identifiable recycled content either post industrial or post consumer. This includes glazes and tile body.

Natural or Renewable:
Adaptable, reusable, or recyclable components. Does not lead to use of unsustainable materials.

Ecologically Responsible:
Non-toxic or non – hazardous to occupants and installers. Material does not require damaging maintenance, replacement or disposal practices.

Resource Efficient Manufacturing:
Products manufactured with resource-efficient processes including reducing energy consumption, minimizing waste (recycled, recyclable and or source reduced product packaging), and reducing greenhouse gases.

Efficient Sourcing and Transportation of Materials:
Product components found locally or regionally saving energy and resources in transportation to factory. Factories where products are manufactured are local to job site or to major port thereby reducing the transportation

MEET THE TEAM

Timothy Roberts

President
troberts@designanddirectsource.com

Suzanne Sanning

Senior Vice President
ssanning@designanddirectsource.com

Marian Peteros

Project Presentation Manager
marian@designanddirectsource.com

Steven Bowe

Materials Manager
steven@designanddirectsource.com

Robert Willems

Business Manager
bob@designanddirectsource.com

Andre Simard

Purchasing
andre@designanddirectsource.com

Ryan Cottrill

Project Manager
quotes@designanddirectsource.com

Nina Jacquez

Estimator
quotes@designanddirectsource.com

Kevin O’Neil

Estimator
kevin@designanddirectsource.com

Summer Biehler

Estimator
quotes@designanddirectsource.com

Scott Jones

Logistics Manager
scott@designanddirectsource.com

Aiyesha Christiansen

Logistics
aiysha@designanddirectsource.com

Jarrad Isechal

Sample Specialist
samples@designanddirectsource.com

Kenny Arellano

Sample Specialist
samples@designanddirectsource.com

Jonathan Waldorf

Samples
samples@designanddirectsource.com

Fernando Perez

Samples
fernando@designanddirectsource.com

Rena Alimamedova

Samples
samples@designanddirectsource.com

Alex Riedlinger

Assistant
alex@designanddirectsource.com

Stephanie Bohnen

Assistant
sbohnen@designanddirectsource.com

Puppy Kitty

Resident Noise Maker
meow

Stanley Puppy

Mischief-Maker
bark

Mikey Puppy

Security Alarm
bark